Never ‘felt’ better

In my Christmas Crafting post I mentioned I’d bought a needle felting kit to make a penguin wrapped in Christmas tree lights. The kit I bought (by Simply Make) came with scant instructions to required a bit of research before I was able to make my first foray in to needle felting. With the help of The University of YouTube I was able to make a start after Christmas and I something to tell you folks.

It. Was. Glorious.

I have never felt better (lol). There was something so therapeuatic and violent about repeatedly stabbing the felt, shaping it in to a cute little penguin. I immediaterly starting scouring the internet for other kits, but couldn’t find one I really liked.

He may not be the prettiest penguin (the less said about his nose the better) but I’m quite proud for my first attempt!

Then the other day I was on the Cats Protection website (finding information about trapping strays – we have one that keeps attacking my cat) and say they were doing a Crafts for Cats craftalong, selling needle felting kits with materials to make two mini needle felt cats. I knew that these were the perfect next needle felting project for me. The purchase of the kit supports a charity dear to me heart (both my rescue babies came from them), and I get to repeatedly stab things to make something cute. In the middle of a pandemic, I can imagine no greater way to raise money for charity. And even from a cursory glance, I can see that the instructions for this kit are a million times better than the previous one I did! And, they actually supplied needle felting pads. So fewer stab wounds to my fingers hopefully this time.

I am, of course, going to ignore the suggested patterns and make mini versions of my Cats Protection rescue babies. I mean, how could I not? They are the cutest cats that ever lived…

Leave a comment